KL Monday

May 14, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

Today was a nice working day here in Kuala Lumpur. The photos are slow today, so I’ll have to wait on those. Too bad, because there were some good ones from today! I slept in a little because I worked yesterday, and headed out starting with a falafel sandwich for breakfast at a place near the supermarket I went to work at. I spend at least an hour or so in the supermarket (sometimes over two hours) so it’s extremely important that I eat first.

After the market and a few other work related stops, I made my way over to the Communications Tower to do the touristy thing and view the city from very high up. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kuala_Lumpur_Tower

It was pretty cool. I had more fun though when I got down. My ticket included a visit to the little zoo they have at the bottom of the tower. There, I got to hold some birds and also a snake! The guy that was handling the birds was kissing one of them, so that was cool and also a little weird. While the zoo thing was kind of cool, it grossed me out so I went back to the hotel to immediately shower.

I went back out for some more work, a vegetable satay snack, and some shopping and had some nice nasi lemak (coconut rice, the special local food around here) for dinner. I’m excited to watch Mad Men this evening!

Love, Anne

Leave a Reply

