Kuala Belait 2

April 30, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope you are well. Today was a working day, and all in all it was a good day, but the work was frustrating.

One of the malls here is pretty gross and miserable to be inside. I took one picture today, here it is.

At the bottom of those buildings is a grocery store and a hotel. Behind the buildings is the ocean. After working, I took a walk from my hotel to an International Expo we passed on the way back to the hotel. It was in an air conditioned tent, and there were all sorts of stalls with strange things to buy like aloe vera lotion and a sweet vegetable peeler.

I’m not sure what was so International about it. For dinner I found a new Chinese restaurant near my hotel, and had homemade wok noodles with vegetables. Not bad!

This second picture I took yesterday on the street. This guy is cooking tuna (on the left) mackerel (on the right) and chicken. I said I thought tuna was much bigger than that and was informed that the tuna is not they kind they have in Japan, which is indeed much larger. I asked if they caught the fishes in the river and they laughed at the question and said of course not, they were frozen.

Have a nice week everybody!

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

