Kuala Belait 1

April 29, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

I’m writing from the hotel in Kuala Belait (KB). The hotel doesn’t look like much from the outside, but the room is decent, pretty large, and overlooks the river. The first picture is from the walk this morning in Bandar.

Here in KB, the bathroom has tiles and smell reminds me of the bathroom in my Bubbie’s house so that’s very nice.

This morning I woke up early (sleeping late has been impossible) and took a nice walk to find some breakfast. I had a nice meal at Caffe Vito and they were playing the white house correspondents dinner on CNN. I had tofu and vegetables and rice — delicious.

After more walking, I packed up and taxied over to KB. It took about an hour and fifteen minutes.

After settling at the hotel, I went for a walk. I explored most of the town, as much as possible in the heat. I was about to go back to the hotel but it was only 3:30 and that wasn’t late enough so I tried to do some more exploring. On this second go, I found an awesome smelling cake shop playing funky music (shown above) definitely my favorite shop so far. I got some mini cookies from there. They are okay tasting.

It’s a good thing I won’t be here too long because there isn’t really anything to do. Also, this city isn’t as glamourous as Bandar.

My first impression is that it’s significantly dumpier than the capital. For some reason, the pictures make it seem a lot more pristine than in person. The last picture is of the main street in KB centre area.

I found some swastikas spray painted on the cobblestone near some boats kind of where I’m standing for the picture with the boats in it.

I realize that the symbol is used in other cultures but still. After my walks I watched South Park in the hotel room. :).

Dinner was surprisingly good and cheap. The hotel has an Indian cafe across the street and for $7.50 I got a tasty and spicy mixed vegetables dish and garlic rice and an iced tea, way more food than I could eat in fact. I’ll definitely be back there to try some of the other things on the menu.

All in all it was a good day off and I’m excited to get to work tomorrow.

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

