Bandar Seri Begaw(an)ednesday

April 25, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

Today, my first full day in Bandar Seri Begawan, was great and also exhausting. I woke up at 6:00 AM probably due to some kind of jet lag — this happened in Hong Kong too but I just didn’t get out of bed.

I decided to take advantage of the morning to explore the Morning Market (pictured above), about a ten minute walk from the hotel. On the way I passed this Temple and there was a little doggy guarding the entrance.

Pretty cute. I got some breakfast food – coconut rice and some other thing that tasted good but I didn’t love the texture. It had vegetables, some meat, and peanuts. I took the vegetables out and put them in the rice. Before ordering, the ladies at the table gave me a fried banana to try. Not a plantain… a real banana and it was awesome.

After breakfast I walked back to the hotel and even after ten minutes

in the early morning I was sweating a lot and fantasizing about the air conditioned room.

I worked in the morning and came across a store that basically had everything. I’ve never seen anything like it in the US – the variety of good quality electronics and accessories was pretty outstanding.

I had lunch at a Japanese restaurant called Kaizen Sushi and it was phenomenal. The restaurant is near the Kampong Ayer water village, shown in the picture above. I’m planning to explore it another day.

After Lunch, I walked back to the hotel by way of the famous Omar Ali Saifuddin mosque. I didn’t go in because I wasn’t completely covered but I did get to walk around outside.

Next, I went to this unbelievable hotel, the Empire Hotel and Country Club because I had some work to do there. It was a taxi ride away. It was just so Grand. On the way home it started to rain. It started at 4:30 and it was Heavy! Monsoon season is no joke. 

After the rain stopped (it went on for about an hour or so) I went for an evening walkto the “night market,” which just serves food.

It was pretty cool but smelled strongly. Not all bad strongly, but too strong for me to feel like eating at that point.

Now it’s only just after 9PM but I am so sleepy. Good night!

Love, Anne

Leave a Reply

