Hi Brunei

April 24, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

I’ve finally arrived in Bandar Seri Begawan, my first stop. I woke up this morning in Hong Kong to a pretty sweet view.

The window kind of tinted the whole thing green. This morning I slept as long as possible and then went down for breakfast. I had some coconut soup with chicken and a fruit thing in it that I had never tasted before. It looked like a fig but I’m not sure if that was it. Anyway if it was a fig it was a different kind of fig– smaller and greener — than I’m used to.

I took the airport shuttle back to the airport and checked in easily. I bought some alcohol to bring into Brunei (they don’t sell it here) some vodka and some wine. I just realised that I do not have a wine opener… eek.

The flight over was three hours and pretty pleasant. I took this picture so you can see how the flight attendants dress. The outfits are Sweet.

On the way to the hotel, the taxi driver took me on a little tour of the city. It’s pretty small but fancy looking and there is a “night market” and a “day market”. I’ll write more about the cool features of the city when I get to see them on foot. One thing he said that was pretty funny was that there are only 34 taxis in Bandar Seri Begawan. 15 go to the airport and the other 19 hang around town. Good thing I’m walking distance from most things!

The hotel room is totally fine and tonight I’m just going to relax and get ready for work tomorrow!

Hope you are well.

Love,

Annie

2 Responses to “Hi Brunei”


  1. I can see you now, trying to push that cork in the wine using every available tool at your disposal! Love you and be safe! Mom


  2. I bet if you ask the consierge or even the porter, they will get you a corkscrew, no need to shake or use your teeth (g-d forbid) I am sure your not the first one in this position and the hotel’s job is to please. Airline’s costumes are great can’t miss where you are. Waiting for tomorrows work day blog. Love you, Bubbie


Leave a Reply

