Hello Hong Kong!

April 23, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope you are well! It’s the start of a new adventure and I’m very excited. I’ve just arrived in Hong Kong safely. I won’t be working here and will be staying only one night. Tomorrow, I’m off to Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei. Here is a picture of the pool area at the hotel in Hong Kong. It’s sweet! I managed to get here with a free airport shuttle!

This quarter I’m assigned to Brunei and Malaysia, and won’t be back until June because there are a lot of cities on the agenda! In Brunei, I’ll be going to Bandar Seri Begawan and then Kuala Belait, and in Malaysia, Miri, Bintulu, Kuala Lumpur, Ipoh, and lastly Lumut.

These locations are pretty close to one another, Four cities on Borneo’s northern coast and then three on the Peninsula. This means I’ll be able to taxi around instead of flying from city to city. This is absolutely Awesome because it’s much less stressful to car than to airplane.

Here’s my first Asian dinner. It’s Nasi Goreng (Indonesian fried rice) and looks like some chicken and beef satays. This one was less spicy than the Nasi Goreng they serve at Meyers and Chang in Boston’s south end but that sauce is spicy peanut sauce.

Another cool thing about this trip is that I expect the food in Malaysia to be Awesome and healthy (and new!). Hopefully this is correct and I don’t get sick. I’ve yet to get sick on a survey knock on wood.

After  a long (over 15 hours) flight it was extremely nice to shower and drink wine. And of course, to be in a completely new region of the world.

Time to get some much needed sleep. See you from Brunei!

Love,

Anne

2 Responses to “Hello Hong Kong!”


  1. So awesome Annie! Enjoy your day in hong kong! Love you so much and don’t forget to buy wine to bring to Brunai!
    Read my blog you will find it funny.


  2. Glad your long flight is over. I read about some of the cities you will be going to and they sound awesome. Your dinner looked so good! Keep writing, love you


Leave a Reply

