Goodbye Windhoek

February 15, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

The past few days have been really nice. I’ve been working hard and enjoying my time here.

This afternoon, I finished a little early so went to hang out in the park.

In the park, I hung out with some guys from Windhoek that were studying IT at the university here. One said he would be scared to go to America because you can’t walk outside after 8pm because it’s too dangerous. I guess that’s the impression our TV shows and movies leave on people! This next picture is of Joes Beerhouse from Last night. I met a group of college students there studying abroad in Windhoek at the bar! Pretty cool.

This evening, I went back to the Hilton to hang out at the bar and read.

I ended up sitting next to a Super cool couple that has traveled all over the world and has lived in Namibia for four years. They’ve also lived in Zambia, Guatemala… We talked for a while about everything from politics to language to what we did during our long flight connections in Amsterdam. It was absolutely wonderful company.

Tomorrow morning, I fly to Luanda, Angola! Currently the most expensive place for an expatriate to live.  Should be interesting for many reasons. See you soon!

Love, Annie

Leave a Reply

