cape town day off!

February 4, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

Today was one of my days off, and it was excellent, and busy.

I ate a tasty breakfast at the hotel and went for a hike up Table Mountain. This is one of the “Musts” for cape town, and I thought it would be good to do it as soon as possible to get a good sense of the city and the peninsula. What a great experience.

The hike took about two hours, and then I got to see views like this one. It’s hard to pick the best pictures for this post because I took so many and they’re all awesome. I could have taken a cable car but I definitely wanted the exercise and felt it was very rewarding.

I took the cable car down.

The cable car is circular and has rotating floors which I thought was cool so that you can see the whole view no matter where you’re standing. Also, near that peak Lion’s head, there are tons to para gliders.

At the bottom of the cable car I caught  the topless bus (hahaha — it just has no roof) to the V&A waterfront where I had lunch and walked around for a while.

The bus is like a tour where you can get on and off whenever you want. I got to see the Atlantic Seaboard and learned about all the beaches. After lunch, I got back on the topless bus to get the tour of the city centre. You buy a day pass, so why not!

After spending the whole day outside, I took a rest in my room. Then went out for dinner at Bukhara, an Indian restaurant. Everyone I asked raved about it. I had a delicious meal and read the Steve Jobs biography.

I saw a lot of other great things today but have developed quite the headache so it’s time to go to bed.

Hope you are having a good weekend! Go Pats!

Love,
Annie

Leave a Reply

