Johannesbirthday!

February 2, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

Hope you’re doing well. Yesterday and today have been rather “regular” days. I worked all of yesterday and most of today.

This afternoon, I took myself out for a birthday lunch at Nelson Mandela square. Here’s a picture of me poking out from under the statue. I wanted to take a looking up shot from under him like I did in Novosibirsk with the big statues, but that didn’t seem appropriate– I didn’t want to offend anybody.

I went out for Greek food near the square. It was great. I had haloumi cheese and Greek salad and wine. I was excited to eat haloumi cheese because I saw a thing about it on the food network once, and it seems to be very popular around here although I’m pretty sure it’s a Mediterranean thing. There were some very gossipy girls sitting next to me, so it was fun to listen to their conversation.

I guess there’s an Idol (like the tv show) tryouts around here on Saturday. At one point, the girls were doing some test-singing for each other. I tried not to throw up when they sang.

When I got back to the hotel, I got a call from the front desk saying that there were flowers for me! So, Check these out! There are certainly a lot of flowers here! I’m pretty overwhelmed with happy, as you can see from this picture.

I put them in an ice bucket to use as a temporary vase. They are from my mom, dad, and bubbie. Thanks so much! I love you! What a nice birthday surprise. Apparently it was quite a headache getting these flowers over here. The flowers look even better in person in the “vase” and smell Awesome.

Tomorrow morning, Im off to Cape Town. I’m really excited to go there. It’s about a two hour flight. I plan to take the Gautrain to the airport because it’s cheaper than a taxi, I’ll avoid rush hour traffic, and everyone raves about it.

Even though I didn’t get any birthday hugs, It’s been a pretty good Johannesbirthday.

Love,

Annie

Leave a Reply

