Sunday in Mauritius

January 29, 2012

Dear Family and Friends,

Today was another great day! I slept late and headed to the beach once again.

This time, north to a place called Pereybere. On Saturday I went to the Western area, which is south of Port Louis. On the way north, the taxi driver asked me if I would like to take the highway or the coastal route. I opted for the coastal route and got to see some scenery. It was really nice of him to do this! He didn’t even charge me more for the “tour”, which was pretty sweet, and I gave him a tip.

The swimming in Pereybere was awesome. Warm, clear waters.

I ate lunch at a beach side café and then hung out on some rocks, pictured above. After I’d had enough of that location (it was getting a little crowded), I walked south along a coastal road to Grand Baie. I hung out on the beach there for a while (not the beach pictured but one you could swim at), and then explored the town. There were many shops but since it was Sunday, they were unfortunately closed.

I ate dinner with the same friend I had drinks with on Friday at the hotel party. He took me to a Chinese-ey restaurant back in Flic en Flac on the west side of the island. It was packed and awesome. Pictured here. We ate something called “magic bowl” which is a funny translation because the French is “reverse bowl.” It was pretty magic though. They put rice, and chicken, and vegetables in sauce in a bowl and then flip it over onto the plate. It was extremely tasty and a great experience and I was so very happy to have company.

Off to Johannesburg this afternoon. I’m a little sad to leave this island but excited for the next adventures!

Love,

Annie

One Response to “Sunday in Mauritius”


  1. I’d be sad to be leaving that island too!!!


Leave a Reply

