thursday in kyiv

November 17, 2011

Dear Famliy and Friends,

Only five nights to go on this five week trip. I’m pretty excited to get home. This morning, I decided to take the subway to a mall that I thought was close to a subway stop. When I got into the subway, i was trying to read the signs, map in hand, and an woman came up to me and she said “I see you and I think you need help, where are you going.” I pointed to the stop I was trying to get to, and she walked me all the way to the platform where I needed to wait, and then went on her way. It was a station with two different lines so it’s a bit confusing if you don’t know any of the local language. I thought that was extremely nice of her. The subway here is no Moscow subway, but it definitely worked!

I didn’t take any pictures today but here’s another from yesterday to spice this up.

It’s a cathedral I bumped into yesterday. Don’t worry, it didn’t hurt. (haha!)

The subway station was not near the mall, and I got frustrated after walking for an hour and a half  in the wrong direction (getting different directions from everyone I tried to ask). The area wasn’t really nice to be in, so i just said to myself screw it and got a taxi.  I really wanted to not use a taxi, but I also really wanted to get some work done today.

When I left the mall, it was just about dark outside, so I decided it would be the smart thing to do to take a taxi back to the hotel. I noticed a taxi with two people in it (two drivers) and there was an empty taxi next to it, so i looked in and asked if they would please take me to the hotel. One of the men asked me to write it down, so I did.

I got into the taxi and the driver said Hi to me and bye to the other driver, and I noticed he had the weirdest voice. I didn’t really think much of it. And then the driver tried to make conversation with me, and he kept writing things down on this little pad that we had originally used to write the name of the hotel and on which the other driver wrote directions and he was making some Crazy motions with his hands. “USA” he wrote. I crossed it out. “CANADA” I wrote. People around here seem to Really like Canada so I usually go with that. He lit up. I tried to say something to him and he shook his head. “TORONTO?” he wrote. I crossed that out too. “CALGARY” (just to make it interesting). He said Calgary as he knew it! and smiled and made some motions like a hockey stick. Oh yeah.   Here’s yet another picture. I know it’s blurry, but the color of the sky was Insane. This is a different church than the one above.  

I didn’t really think anything of all this broken conversation and use of the notepad because no one really understands me around here, but I was still wondering what was up with his voice and kept trying to speak really clearly to him then he pointed to his ears and shook his head and it hit me…ahhh he’s Deaf! That explains a lot.

So we continued to talk through the notepad all the way back to the hotel and he even gave me a new page on his note pad. That was one of the best conversations I’ve had this trip.

So that was really nice. After I got back to the hotel I dropped off my stuff and headed out for dinner. I ended up at an Indian restaurant and had rice and lentils and salad. It was great.

Love,
Annie

Leave a Reply

