tuesday: good bye moscow, hello kiev!

November 15, 2011

Dear Family and Friends,

All my love. By the way, for those who don’t know, Kiev is pronounced “keev!” My great grandmother pronounced it that way, and I didn’t know what the deal was, but turns out she was right. Very smart, Bubbia Lily.

The last day in Moscow was pretty productive, but it’s a good thing I left when I did because I was just about ready to punch everyone. I got hit in the face with the subway doors one too many times. Gosh, though, the subway system is so cool. Here’s something I found in there:

The flight from Moscow to Kiev was uneventful and during the flight I even slept a little bit! This is Very unlike me. It was a two hour flight and during the flight we went back in time, leaving at 1:00 P.M, and arriving at 12:35 PM in Kiev. Mind blowing.

I arrived in Kiev and it was overcast and cold. After a half hour taxi to the hotel, I unpacked and went out for a walk. My first impression of Ukrainians is that they are not so scowly. I have Ukrainian heritage, and I also noticed that facially I look like more people here.  I read that many (80 something percent of) Ukrainians do indeed have Ukrainian decent.

I ate lunch at a place called Buddha Bar. It’s a very hip and sexy club/restaurant at night. I had the lunch special that I thought was reasonable. It was more like a “linner” (lunch-dinner) because I ate around 4:30.The food was spectacular and interesting. For example, I had coconut milk chicken soup. Here’s a picture of the city from right outside the Buddha bar when I walked out. It was snowing at that point!

The city is very beautiful so I’ll take some more pictures tomorrow. In this one you can see Independence Square in the background. It gets dark here around 4ish.

Coming from Moscow to Kiev was a two hour time difference because Russia didn’t “fall back” this year!

Love,

Annie

Leave a Reply

