Hello Moscow!!

November 8, 2011

Hi Family and Friends,

I’m safe in the hotel in Moscow. The flight was pretty uneventful, except that it was delayed a little bit because Putin was leaving the airport from Novosibirsk so our plane couldn’t take off until his went due to security reasons. I learned this from a girl that helped me out. I didn’t realise the plain was delayed and it changed gates and none of the airport staff spoke english.

I got to Moscow and it took about 50 minutes to get to the hotel. Colleagues said that it has taken them two hours to get from the airport to downtown so I considered myself lucky. There’s a lot of traffic in Moscow as with any big city but I don’t think I saw it in full effect. When I got to the hotel a girl tried to cut me in line (people don’t really respect the idea of a “line” in Russia it seems…) but i didn’t let her get away with it.

I got into the room and nearly cried with joy because it is really nice and the shampoos are fabulous. I washed my hands to clean them but also to try out the soap and it’s lemony ahhh. Same with all of the shampoos. They provide shampoo, conditioner, soap AND bath gel… wow. No more of the combination “hair and bath gel” i’ve been seeing.

I went down to the hotel restaurant, an Italian restaurant. It was very fancy, and extremely expensive (my most expensive dinner yet) even though I didn’t order very much.  One thing I did get was Mozzarella and Tomato and Basil salad. I almost cried with joy again because it tasted so good. The tomatos were big and not mealy at all, there were basil leaves, and the mozzarella cheese was soft and real mozzarella cheese. I’m not sure what i’ve been eating for the past three weeks…

I had a glass of sparkling wine to celebrate a safe arrival and the shampoos. It was a Russian sparkling wine and pretty dry and quite good. Although i think most wines are good…

Now I’m nine hours ahead of Boston. I’m looking forward to getting to work tomorrow and to seeing the city!!!

Love,

Annie

Leave a Reply

