Update from Boston, MA

September 17, 2011

Hi Family and Friends,

Here’s an update: Some very exciting news: I’ve just received my next survey assignment! On October 17th, I’ll be leaving for about five weeks on a trip to Kazakhstan, Russia, and Ukraine. More specifically, I’ll be traveling to

In Kazakhstan: Atyrau, Almaty, and Astana

In Russia: Novosibirsk and Moscow

In Ukraine: Kiev

I’m Pumped! I’m starting to learn the Cyrillic alphabet as a co worker told me it was important to be able to read the language, especially for work. I can now write my name and the names of my parents and siblings and dog. This will be the farthest east I have ever traveled (I’ve never been east of the Dead Sea), and it will also be the largest time change I have ever encountered.

On another note, since I’ve been home from my first survey trip, I’ve come to appreciate this city a great deal. As I’ve been writing about the food in all other places, I think I’ll talk about some of my favorite restaurants in Metro Boston.

1. For Greek food, I LOVE to go to Farm Grill Rotisserie, located in in Newton near the Needham border. http://farm-grill.com/. They have fantastic vegetables– salads and sides, and they have this Avocado/Feta salad that’s kind of like a guacamole that’s just amazing. They also have great meat. Okay, in my opinion, everything about this place is great. If you go there, expect to spend 10-15 dollars for each person.

2. A new restaurant I’ve been to a few times recently is Dorado, in Brookline. It’s on Harvard Street, and has some ridiculous fish tacos. If you’ve been reading this blog, you’ve seen that I’ve become a pretty big fan of fish tacos, and Dorado has some of the best. They are pretty small though, so make sure to get enough. http://doradotacos.com/.

That’s all for now. I’m about to go on a wine tour of the South End (neighborhood of Boston) with some girl friends.
Best,

Anne

One Response to “Update from Boston, MA”

  1. Michel Says:

    hehe, you and your fish tacos :]


Leave a Reply

