Calgary Day 1

August 18, 2011

Hi Family and Friends!

I arrived in Calgary, AB last night very late. The flight from Anchorage and then from Vancouver were uneventful, but I have to say that Air Canada planes are pretty nice. There were TV’s on the back of the seats even for just an hour-long domestic flight, and I got to watch a movie and a documentary. I got a little lost on the way to the hotel but eventually found my way.

Today, I worked a long day and then decided to try a place called Anju for dinner. I think that’s Korean for “small plate.”  Anju was totally sweet. I got lucky because there was live jazz tonight, and that only happens once or twice a month. Also, Anju has great food. It’s Korean-Inspired tapas. My favorite thing was the crispy tofu with kimchee. This place is definitely a must-go if you ever find yourself here. I tried to take a picture but it was just too dark for it to come out well. It didn’t feel that dark in the restaurant but the phone camera wasn’t having it.

While I was sitting at the bar, a girl sat next to me and we got to talking and what do you know she went to high school in New Hampshire at a school similar to the one I went to, and we have a mutual friend! The girl’s name is Britta (like the water filter) and she showed me an unbelievable night! As the night went on I noticed that she is extremely outgoing and super duper fun, but also responsible. What a cool girl I am so lucky to have met her!

We left Anju after enjoying the jazz, and took the “C” train (which is free downtown– Whhhaaaatttt!!) to another bar called West where we sat on the Rooftop bar. We got invited to sit with an oil businessman who said he is a “wolf in cheap clothing” -im not sure what that means- and two women that he had met earlier in the evening, and he bought us a bunch of drinks! We decided the night wasn’t over, so we took a cab to another bar called 4010. At 4010 we met one of the ladies’ husbands, but Britta and I decided to find fun elsewhere, in part because our new friends were getting a little too drunk on us.

Here is a picture of us having fun. Nice face on that guy in the background. (Eh?)

So we headed to another place next door called Morgan’s, which I’m told is a classic Calgary bar. They had live music that was really good, they played a lot of CCR and Tom Petty. Britta and I ended up playing pool with some guys that we met from other parts of Canada that were also on business in Calgary, and then we danced and drank and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves for a while. The atmosphere in the bar was fantastic, very chill.

It got to be about 1 am (i really partied it up tonight!!!) so although my new buddies were off to yet another bar, I decided to quit while I was ahead, so I took a cab back to the hotel and here I am now! I’m so happy to go to bed tonight having had an awesome night on the town.

By the way, Calgary is a nice city. Downtown is very clean and from my experience the people are pretty nice. Also, there’s more traffic than I’ve experienced yet on this trip. Pictures to come.

Love,

Anne

Leave a Reply

