Saturday in Anchorage

August 14, 2011

Dear Family and Friends,

Today has been a really stellar day. I woke up this morning and went right to the Weekend Market, conveniently located one and a half blocks from my hotel. The market was bustling. There are three main rows filled with different kinds of foods and shopping. I walked up and down the rows sampling everything I could find. I had planned on getting breakfast there, but by the time I had finished walking the rows, I had eaten so many samples that i stopped being hungry. There were almonds, kettle corns, jams and syrups, biscotti, caramel candy, cheese curds, salad dressings… etc. Luckily, I learned that the market is open tomorrow as well. After the market, I decided to rent a bike and bike down the coastal path. A friend of mine who had been here before said this was a must do. He was certainly right. Here is a picture of the coastal path:

Very beautiful. It goes on for about 11 miles and on the right is the coast! There are many people and dogs on the path. Bikers of all ages and abilities, runners, etc.

When I got to the end of the path, there was a chalet and today happened to be a party for a few students from University of Texas that had ridden 4000 something miles from Texas to Anchorage to raise money and awareness for cancer. I went in to check it out and inside, got some free hand sanitizer, lip balm, and a livestrong bracelet, and then I met Olympic cross country skiier Holly Brooks! she’s from Alaska. We chatted for a while and she signed a poster for me.  She is very nice. I learned about her training schedule and she learned about my job.  So that was an unexpected but cool encounter! I told her I would start watching her sport now…! 🙂

Another notable thing that happened on the coastal path was that I saw a moose!! I guess there were three hanging out but I only saw one. Here it is: It’s that brown thing right in the middle. I guess if a moose is near the trail, you have to wait for it. It was closer than it looks in the picture, but still far enough away that I could bike by. How cool. A lady told me that moosies hang out all around.

I took the “alternate  route” back from the coastal path to the rental place. The alternate path goes nearly through the airport and right by the seaplane area (dock/runway/storage area). I saw some seaplanes up close and got to see some taking off, which was really cool. Here’s another picture of something that’s hard to see:

Right in the middle, there is a seaplane about to take off.

I finished the bike loop, it was about 25 miles in all and had worked up an appetite. The sun had come out and I thought it was a perfect time to get Reindeer sausage. I got one with caramelized onions and it was good, but not my favorite thing. I think the most special thing about it might be the name and the atmosphere in which it was eaten. I had that and a corn on the cob from the market. They roast the corns in a big oven and I thought that was really cool. Then they peel off the husks right in front of you and it’s like a Popsicle but hot corn. Extremely tasty.

After that, I did some laundry back at the hotel. While I was doing laundry, I went to check out the Alaska Railroad which is right behind the hotel. Here’s a picture of the tracks I thought was cool. The trains go by and make a “choo choo” noise that I can hear from the room. The railroad is a big deal here because it’s difficult to drive to many places in the state, and everything is far away, so many people take it.

For dinner, I went back to Humpy’s and sat at the bar. I sat next to a guy from Turkey who was in the middle of realising his dream of travelling to Alaska! He works for the Ministry of Finance in Turkey, and is finishing an accounting degree in San Francisco. The bartenders had a hard time understanding him (when he asked for some bread, they brought him two small plates, hahaha) so I helped with that. He said that in part, he dreamed about going to Alaska because he watched a lot of Northern Exposure as a kid– the Turkish national television station played it every Saturday! So that was a really fun dinner, and a great ending to a great day.

To end, here is a picture of Sophie my dog that my brother sent over. It made me smile so much. He took this right after he rubbed her belly so she is extra happy and smiley. There are a lot of doggies here but none as cute as Sophieee!!!

I hope everyone is well and good night! Tomorrow I plan to go hiking. Fingers crossed for good weather.

Love,

Anne

One Response to “Saturday in Anchorage”

  1. Ronna Benjamin Says:

    Wow! Awesome day! Love you!


Leave a Reply

